Hanging Petunia Basket

This hanging basket is very whimsical and fun to make. Hang a birthday cake, an Easter Basket, a Jack-O-Lantern or a Christmas Tree for different holidays.

First, cut 4 panels that measure 5 1/2 x 8 1/2 from white card stock. Cut 4 more panels from patterned paper. I did 2 pink and 2 purple. I used the Cut Mat Create 1A rectangle die to cut out a central window on all of the panels. I centered the die 3/4″ from each side and 2″ from the top and bottom.

IMG_2177

Attach the patterned paper to the white card stock. Fold each panel in half with right sides together. Attach double sided tape to the left side of each panel on the back.

IMG_2178

Attach 3 panels together. Take your hanging image, place the center of your fishing line (9″ long) between the images and then glue them together. Attach one end of the line to the top of the card and the other end to the bottom. Make sure the line is tight.

Attach the fourth panel over the fishing line. Cut the extra line hanging outside the card.

The best part is now…DECORATING!

I stamped 4 baskets and 2 flower arrangements from the Classic Petunia Bouquet. The base baskets I colored with alcohol markers and did not die cut. The top baskets I stamped with Copper Staz On and then die cut them. I shaped the top baskets with the Flower Shaping Tool Kit to give them some depth. I glued the bottom part of the top basket to the base basket and left the top portion free. Color the flower arrangements, die cut them and glue to base basket.They are attached between the base basket and the die cut top basket. I attached some tiny purple gems to the outer baskets.

To give the flower arrangements a 3-D effect, I stamped the Small Classic Petunia in Aged Mahogany Distress Ink and colored them with LV2, LV3 alcohol markers and a white gel pen. I colored the leaves with CT2 and CG2.

IMG_2220 - Version 2

For the panels, I used the flourish from the Cut Mat Create 2B. I used the light green paper from the Classic Petunia Paper Collection.  I completed the top with a tag from the paper collection and the sentiment stamp from the Small Classic Petunia Stamp Set.

As always, make each project your own and share your creativity with others.

Antoinette

Leave a Reply

