Floral Watering Can

I wanted to try something new for a mixed media project. I love the look of embossed foil but getting it to stick was a pain. I found some plumber’s tape at the store and decided to try it. Here’s my result.

Vintage Watering Can

Vintage Watering Can

Mixed Media Floral Watering Can

I really enjoyed the process of making the watering can. If you try this technique, please share it. I love to see how different people create the same project in their own style.

I love making flowers! I didn’t want to do all one flower for this project. I wanted it to look like a little girl had gone out for a walk and brought her mom home a bunch of flowers.

If you would like to recreate this project, see below.

Supplies:

  • Sunny Day Paper Collection
  • Heartfelt Creations Flower Stamps/Dies: Classic Sunflower, Delicate Aster, Posy             Patch, Blazing Poppy, Tattered Blossoms
  • Heartfelt Creations Open Leaf Stamps/Dies
  • Heartfelt Creations Decorative Blossom Corner- small
  • Heartfelt Creations Flower Shaping Tool Kit
  • Heartfelt Creations Assorted Flower Centers: Redland Elements, Lion’s Mane, White Prills
  • Alcohol Markers – DG2, DG3, GB8, GB10
  • Ranger Alcohol Inks – Terra Cotta, Slate, Mushroom, Caramel
  • Ranger Alcohol Blending Solution, Blending Tool
  • Paper Piercing Tool
  • Glossy Accents, Adhesives
  • Decorative Pearls, Gold Ribbon
  • Watering Can Stamp or Image
  • Chipboard Piece 5” x 5”
  • Foam Piece 3” x 3” (can also use foam tape)
  • Plumber’s Tape
  • Kitchen Sponge

 

Stamping:

  • Stamp watering can image onto the chipboard.
  • Stamp all flowers and leaves onto desired paper. For this project, I stamped the leaves on white card stock and the flowers on papers from the Sunny Day Paper Collection.

Flowers:

  • Die cut all flower pieces and leaves.
  • Color your flowers and leaves.
  • Use flower-shaping kit to shape petals and leaves.
  • Assemble your flowers and add your centers.
  • I cut out a butterfly from the paper and applied Glossy Accents. Set aside to dry.

Die Cutting:

  • Die cut 2 of the Heartfelt Creations small Decorative Blossom Corners.

Watering Can:

  • Cut out the image from the chipboard.
  • Cut pieces of plumber’s tape. I used ½” x 1” pieces.
  • Attach the plumber’s tape to the entire surface of the watering can in a random pattern. I overlap the pieces to get a more distressed, dimensional look.
  • Gently distress the surface of the tape with the scratchy side of a dry kitchen sponge.
  • Using your Ranger blending tool, apply the blending solution and alcohol ink colors to your felt. Dab the colors onto your watering can. I usually do 3-4 passes over the surface until I get the color I’m looking for.
  • Using your paper-piercing tool, gently pierce the outline of every single piece of plumber’s tape. Do the outside edge of the watering can also.
  • Apply foam piece or foam tape to the back and set aside.

Assembly:

  • My card base is white card stock and measures 5 ½” x 7 ½”.
  • I applied the dark paper from the paper pack to my card base.
  • I took a 5 ¼” x 7 ¼” piece of lighter paper from the pack and wrapped my gold ribbon around the edges near the bottom. (I only attached the ribbon on the back of the card stock so that I could tuck my die cuts underneath). Attach this to your card.
  • Attach your die cuts using 1/8” double-sided tape on the edges only. Center on the side of the card.
  • Attach your watering can.
  • Arrange your flowers and decide where you want them. Attach them to the card. Tuck your leaves in after you attach your flowers.
  • Add your decorative pearl swirls and butterfly.

 

Happy Crafting!

Antoinette

Leave a Reply

